2008 Amafa Heritage Awards

on .

There’s still time to nominate individuals and groups working to conserve KwaZulu-Natal’s rich and diverse heritage for Amafa’s annual Heritage Awards. 

“We looking to identify and honour unpaid volunteers who go beyond the call of duty or their regular jobs,” said Lindiwe Msomi, Deputy Director of Amafa, the provincial heritage body. “We’re the official custodians but rely very much on help from the public.

“Our heritage and history ranges from 8 000 years ago when the San people began painting their rock art to the modern paintings on the Human Rights Wall on the wall of the old Durban Central Prison.” 

Projects whose volunteers are eligible for nomination include graves of important people, places of oral tradition, battlefields and buildings more than 60 years’ old. And any project that raises awareness of the importance of heritage resources. 

Last year’s recipients included the Evangelical Seminary of Southern Africa for restoration of buildings in Pietermaritzburg; the Kwambomanbi Traditional Authority for preserving King Shaka’s banana plantations, and the Committee of Sri Siva Soobramoniar and Marriamen 

Hindu Temples for restoration of these Pietermaritzburg landmarks. 

Individuals honoured were author and KZN battlefields guide Steve Watt, and Mary Neethling for recording the history of the South Coast. 

Deadline for nominations for the 6th annual Heritage Awards is August 15 with the awards ceremony in Pietermaritzburg on September 19th.

Details and contact numbers to Amafa Deputy Director, Lindiwe Msomi, P.O. Box 2685, Pietermaritzburg 3200. Telephone: (033) 394 6543